VIC Employer avoided paying proper wage/taxes. What kind of lawyer do I need to contact?

Australia's #1 for Law
Join 150,000 Australians every month. Ask a question, respond to a question and better understand the law today!
FREE - Join Now

Amy1103

27 March 2024
I'll try to summarise the story as much as I can. I'm a 31-year-old woman who met my ex-partner, Jack, at university when I was studying architecture at the age of 23. His parents ran a family development/building business, where his dad would leverage debt to buy and develop property himself. After I finished my degree 1.5 years later, I moved in with my partner Jack, and they immediately put me to work in their family business. I learned some admin/bookkeeping skills, but mainly focused on building design work. My partner did the same.

The thing with their family business is that the dad tried to avoid tax at all costs and set up a trust for his children, under which all the properties were bought and developed, and the account was used for living expenses. All bills were paid through the trust to offset tax. To get by, my partner would withdraw money from the trust, and we'd live off it for a while. The business wasn't run properly for years, with no proper negotiations with consultants or partners. I was naive at the time but could sense it wasn't going anywhere for growth. It felt like we were just going in circles, but the dad always made it seem like we just didn't understand. He had narcissistic tendencies and was adept at gaslighting and manipulation. Despite feeling it was unfair that we were helping them grow their family assets without a consistent income, I loved and cared for my partner and did what I thought was right.